Johnny Horton - Singles Collection 1950-60 (CD)

Regular price $17.00

Johnny Horton was a honky-tonk country and rockabilly singer, who found international fame and chart when he recorded a run of "saga" songs which crossed over into the pop charts in the US and UK in the late '50s into 1960, including "The Battle of New Orleans", "Sink The Bismarck" and "North To Alaska". Having actually gone to Alaska to search for gold in 1948, he got into country music via talent shows and had his own radio show as "The Singing Fisherman", making his first records in 1962, recording over the years for the Cormac, Abbott, Mercury and Columbia labels. After his first country hit in 1956 with "Honky Tonk Man" had a run of hits including a country No. 1 in 1959 with "When It's Springtime In Alaska", followed by his pop breakthrough with "The Battle Of New Orleans". Having made the transition from being a down-home country singer, through the ranks of emerging rockabilly performers into the pop world, he was just about at the height of his fame when he was tragically killed in a car accident in 1960.

This great-value 60-track 2-CD set, comprises A and B side from across his career with at least one side of all of his releases included, and it naturally features all of his country and pop chart successes, so it's a comprehensive overview of his work.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
    • Why In The Dickens Don't You Milk That Cow
    • Candy Jones
    • Happy Millionaire
    • Plaid And Calico
    • Birds And Butterflies
    • Coal Smoke, Valve Oil And Steam
    • Go And Wash (Those Dirty Feet)
    • Shadows On The Old Bayou
    • Smokey Joe's Barbeque
    • It's A Long Rocky Road
    • On The Banks Of The Beautiful Nile
    • Somebody Rockin' In My Broken Heart
    • Rhythm In My Baby's Walk
    • First Train Headin' South
    • The Rest Of Your Life
    • The Child's Side Of Life
    • Tennessee Jive
    • I Won't Get Dreamy-Eyed
    • Two Red Lips And Warm Red Wine
    • Broken Hearted Gypsy
    • Move On Down The Line
    • The Door Of Your Mansion
    • No True Love
    • There'll Never Be Another Mary
    • Ridin' The Sunshine Special
    • Big Wheels Rollin'
    • Honky-Tonk Man
    • I'm Ready, If You're Willing
    • I Don't Like I Did
    • I'm A One Woman Man
    • I Got A Hole In My Pirogue
Disc 2:
    • I'm Coming Home
    • She Knows Why
    • Honky Tonk Mind (The Woman I Need)
    • I'll Do It Every Time
    • Let's Take The Long Way Home
    • You're My Baby
    • Lover's Rock
    • Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor
    • The Wild One
    • All Grown Up
    • Counterfeit Love
    • When It's Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below)
    • Whispering Pines
    • The Battle Of New Orleans
    • All For The Love Of A Girl
    • Johnny Reb
    • Sal's Got A Sugar Lip
    • Take Me Like I Am
    • They Shined Up Rudolph's Nose
    • Sink the Bismarck
    • The Same Old Tale The Crow Told Me
    • Johnny Freedom
    • Comanche (The Brave Horse)
    • North To Alaska
    • The Mansion You Stole
    • Sleepy-Eyed John
    • They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
    • Ole Slew-Foot
    • Miss Marcy