Jenks 'Tex' Carman - Cow Punk (CD)

Regular price $17.00

Jenks 'Tex' Carman was a true American original. His unique style of hillbilly hula music would never have made a dentin Nashville, but on the west coast he was embraced. Playing a bizarre style of Hawaiian steel guitar, with little sense off timing, tuning, meter or rhythm, Jenks 'Tex' Carman was on a musical island all of his own. Jenks 'Tex' Carman brought such diverse influences as Hawaiian steel guitar, vaudeville, cowboy ballads, the 'punk' attitude of rockabilly and acoustic country blues together in an act that was as novel as it was perverse.

Deke Dickerson Jenks Tex Carman. Who and what was he? A half century ago he was making country records unlike anybody else's. No amount of smoothing could remove his kind of rough edges. Was he the ''first punk country artist?'' Did Jenks Tex Carman really have a musical vision in his head or was he simply a borderline psychotic, blazing his own trail and giving voice to the odd collection of sounds in his head?

1 CD with 16-page booklet, 32 tracks, playing time 75:39 minutes

More from Bear Family Records

Track Listing

  • Hilo March
  • Beverly Ann
  • Wreck Of The Number 9
  • The Wild And Woolly West
  • Pal Of My Heart
  • Wondering
  • Wildwood Flower
  • Wolf Creek
  • Get Along Pony
  • My Baby I'll Be There
  • Bordertown
  • My Hawaii Calls
  • I'm Going Crazy
  • The Wild Rose Of Tennessee
  • My Dog, My Everything
  • Prairie Fire
  • Wholehearted
  • Your Only Love
  • Lonesome Train
  • Make Love To Me Baby
  • My Heart's A Lonely Ghost Town
  • You Didn't Stay
  • Baby, Me Baby
  • Thinking Of You
  • Possum Twist
  • There's No Use Pretending
  • Tickle Foot Rag
  • I'll Never Go On Without You
  • Following The Trail Of The Rainbow
  • Wait For Me, Angelina
  • My Darling Silverbell
  • Sadie, Oh Do