Merle Haggard - Same Train - A Different Time (CD)

Regular price $17.00

Merle Haggard's 1969 classic double LP played a pivotal role in bringing the music of Jimmie Rodgers to a new audience. In it, he was true to the spirit of Rodgers, but brought a new twist to the legacy.

This CD not only includes all of the original two LPs, but two additional Rodgers songs that Merle recorded later. James Burton's dobro is stellar throughout. Titles include My Rough And Rowdy Ways, Waiting For A Train, Carolina Sunshine Girl, Mule Skinner Blues, Travelin' Blues, Frankie And Johnny and Gambling Polka Dot Blues. Essential!

1-CD with 20-page booklet, 29 tracks. Playing time approx. 77 mns

More from Bear Family Records

Track Listing

  • Jimmie The Kid
  • My Rough And Rowdy Ways
  • California Blues
  • Narration #1
  • Hobo's Meditation
  • Waitin' For A Train
  • Mother, The Queen Of My Heart
  • My Carolina Sunshine Girl
  • Narration #2
  • Train Whistle Blues
  • Why Should I Be Lonely
  • Jimmie's Texas Blues
  • Blue Yodel, #6
  • Narration #3
  • Mule Skinner Blues
  • Peach Picking Time In Georgia
  • Down The Old Road To Home
  • Travelin' Blues
  • Miss The Mississippi And You
  • Frankie And Johnny
  • No Hard Times
  • Narration #4
  • Hobo Bill's Last Ride
  • My Old Pal
  • Nobody Knows But Me
  • Narration #5
  • Jimmie's Rodgers Last Blue Yodel
  • Mississippi Delta Blues
  • Gambling Polka Dot Blues